• New Members

  • Orange County Election Results Finalized

    • Share:
    December 04, 2018
    Registrar of Voters, Neal Kelley, certified the official results of the November 6 General Election on November 30, 2018. Elected officials for Fullerton, La Palma, and Placentia will be sworn into office on Tuesday, December 4 at the respective city council meetings.

    Total turnout from the election was 71% with 44.2% of voters casting their ballot by mail, 25.2% casting their ballot in a polling place, and 1.5% casting their ballot in an Early Vote Center. This is the highest turnout midterm election in Orange County, CA since 1970, when turnout was 76.3%.  According to Kelly, voter turnout in Orange County surpassed that of neighboring counties south of Santa Barbara.

    In the race for Orange County Supervisor, 4th District, Doug Chaffee prevailed over Tim Shaw, marking the first Democrat in this position since 2006. Final vote count gave Chaffee the victory over Shaw with a margin of 1,322 votes – 50.4% to 49.6%

    In the election to represent the 39th Congressional District, voters selected Gil Cisneros (D) by a 51.6% to 48.4% margin over his competitor Young Kim (R). Other congressional races throughout the county witnessed close races electing Katie Porter to represent the 45th Congressional District over incumbent Mimi Walters, Harley Rouda (D) replacing incumbent Dana Rohrabacher (R) for the 48th Congressional District, and Mike Levin (D) over Diane Harkey (R) in the 49th District.

    Several cities voted by district for the first time. Among those, Buena Park voters chose Sunny Youngsun Park over incumbent Virginia Vaughn to represent District 1, incumbent Elizabeth “Beth” Swift to represent District 5 and Connor Traut to represent District 5.

    In Fullerton, Jesus Silva and Ahmad Zahra were elected to represent Districts 3 and 5 respectively.  As Silva had two years remaining as an at-large Councilmember in Fullerton, the city and its council will be challenged with appointing an additional representative or holding a special election after the first of the year.

    City of Placentia residents elected Craig Green and Chad Wanke to represent Districts 2 and 4 respectively. Voters in the City of Stanton elected David Shawver to serve as Mayor, and Rigoberto Ramirez and Gary Taylor the first to represent District 1 and 3 respectively.

    Voters in the City of Brea, reelected incumbents Cecilia Hupp, Steven Vargas, and Glenn G. Parker to City Council. In La Palma, incumbent Michele Steggell was elected to City Council as was newcomer Nitesh Patel.

    Detailed election results for local races are available on the Orange County Registrar of Voter’s Website, ocvote.com. Results for State and Congressional races are available at sos.ca.gov.