• New Members

  • City of La Palma Selects New Mayor

    • Share:
    December 12, 2018

    The City Council at its regular meeting held on December 4, 2018, selected a new mayor and mayor pro tem for 2019, swore in two Council Members, and recognized outgoing Council Member Kathy Flachmeier.

    The City Council selected Marshall Goodman as Mayor for 2019. Mayor Goodman stated, “La Palma is on an upward trend! I am excited to be a part of this productive time, and I am grateful for the hard work and diligence of the preceding Council. I look forward to continuing this trend and accomplishing great things for our City.” Mayor Goodman was elected to the La Palma City Council in November 2016.

    The City Council also selected Peter Kim as Mayor Pro Tem for 2019. Mayor Pro Tem Kim said, “I am excited to work closely with Mayor Goodman during the upcoming year.  Through his leadership, I am confident that the City Council will work cohesively to strive and make the City of La Palma an even better place to live and raise a family.” Mayor Pro Tem Kim was first elected to the La Palma City Council in November 2012 and again in 2016.

    Additionally, the City Council certified the results of the November 2018 General Municipal Election and swore in incumbent Michele Steggell and newly elected Council Member Nitesh Patel.

    Lastly, the City Council recognized outgoing Council Member Kathy Flachmeier for her service.

    The City Council holds its regular meeting on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at 7822 Walker Street.

    About the City of La Palma

    Ranked by Money Magazine in 2007, 2011, 2013, and 2015 as one of America’s Best Places to Live, the City of La Palma is a 1.9 square mile general law city in northwest Orange County, consisting of 15,568 residents and approximately 300 commercial and industrial businesses.  The City was incorporated in 1955 under the name of Dairyland and has 55 full-time and 35 part-time employees.